Questions about traveling with a pet?

Contact | Email | Facebook

Home > Pet Passports > Rabies Free Countries

Rabies-Free Countries

Many countries classify other countries that they consider rabies-free and adjust their pet import requirements for those countries. Information is generally based on current standings with the World Organization for Animal Health (OIE) for countries not having a rabies event within two years. Below is a list of countries considered to be rabies-free by countries that make this classification. If the country that you are looking for is not listed here, it may be found in high-rabies or rabies-controlled countries.

Rabies-Free Countries as classified by the European Union

The European Union no longer classifies any country as rabies-free. Rabies vaccinations are required for cats, dogs and ferrets entering the European Union from any country. They do classify countries as rabies-controlled (listed Third) countries. Try searching for your home country in rabies-controlled countries.

Rabies-free countries as classified by Hong Kong (6 month residency requirement)

United Kingdom, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, Fiji, Hawaii and Japan.

Rabies-free countries as classified by Australia (6 month residency requirement)

New Zealand, Norfolk Island and Cocos Island

Rabies-Free Countries as classified by New Zealand (6 month residency requirement)

Australia, Bahrain, Barbados, Falkland Islands, Fiji, French Polynesia, Guam, Hawaii, Iceland, Japan, Mauritius, New Caledonia, Singapore and Vanautu. The Pacific Islands of American Samoa, Christmas Island, Cook Islands, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Norfolk Island, Pitcairn Island, Saipan, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Wallis and Futuna and Western Samoa.

Rabies-free countries as classified by Iceland (6 month residency requirement)

Australia, Faroe Islands, Finland, Great Britain, Japan, New-Zealand, Norway (Svalbard not included), New Zealand or Sweden

Rabies-free countries as classified by Japan (6 month residency requirement)

Iceland, Australia, New Zealand, Fiji, Hawaii and Guam.

Rabies-free countries as classified by South Korea

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Guam, Hong Kong, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kuwait, New Zealand, Portugal, Singapore, Sweden, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates and the United Kingdom.

Rabies-free countries as classified by the United Arab Emirates (6 months residency requirement)

Albania, Andorra, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Bahrain, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Falkland Islands, Fiji, Finland, France, French Polynesia, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Korea, Kuwait, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Maldives, Malta, Marshall Islands Mauritius, Micronesia, Montenegro, Netherlands, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Palau, Portugal, Qatar, Singapore, San Marino, Seychelles, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom and Vanuatu.

Rabies-free countries as classified by Singapore (6 month residency requirement)

Australia, New Zealand, Republic of Ireland, United Kingdom

Rabies-free countries as classified by Taiwan (6 month residency requirement)

Japan, the United Kingdom, Sweden, Iceland, Australia, New Zealand, Norway (not including Svalbard), Hawaii, Guam or Singapore

Need More Information?

We have current and accurate information on traveling with your pet by air, sea or ground. Find more Pet Travel Information

Didn't find what you were looking for?

If you have questions, please post to our blog or Facebook or send us an email us at We respond as soon as we can.